Innovative Quality Schools


Dan Mott, Esq, Chair
[email protected]
Mr. Mott is an attorney with the law firm of Fredrikson & Byron. Mr. Mott was a member of the MDE Charter School Advisory Council. He also was staff for the Minnesota Senate Education Finance Committee as Minnesota was creating the nation's leading choice policies.

David Johnson, PhD, Vice Chair
[email protected]
Associate Dean
College of Education and Human Development, University of Minnesota
While on the Rockford District Board, Dr. Johnson was instrumental in the initiation of "Skills for Tomorrow," a charter school in St. Paul.

Craig W. Amundson, DDS, Secretary
[email protected]
Dr. Amundson served as the COO of the dental division of Health Partners and is an avid supporter of innovation and entrepreneurship.

Ed Dirkswager, Treasurer
[email protected]
Mr. Dirkswager is a retired health care executive and has held positions as: Chief Administrative Officer of Group Health (now Health Partners); Chair of the Board of the National Cooperative Bank; Assistant Professor at St Thomas College (now University) and Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Public Welfare (now Human Services). He is the editor of the book “Teachers as Owners” and with Kim Farris-Berg co-authored “Trusting Teachers with School Success: What happens when teachers call the shots.”

Holly Dayton
[email protected]
Ms. Dayton is a recent graduate of Avalon School, a chartered school in Saint Paul. She is a student at Saint Paul College and also a Committee Legislative Assistant in the Office of Senator Bev Scalze. She has also consulted with education | evolving with some of its legislative initiatives.

Kristin Anderson, EdD
[email protected]
Former Superintendent of Rockford Area Schools and Fertile-Beltrami Schools.  She currently serves of the Dean’s Advisory Council for the University of MN College of Education and Human Development as well as on the Curriculum Advisory Council for the Education Leadership Department of the University of St. Thomas.  Anderson served as the founding Board Chair of IQS.

Steve Kelley
[email protected]
Steve Kelley is a Senior Fellow at he Humphrey School of Public Affairs.  He teaches classes related to science and technology policy, public budgeting and education law and policy.  Before joining the Humphrey School, he served in the Minnesota Senate and House of Representatives where among other roles he served as chair of the Senate Education Committee.  Steve also practiced commercial litigation in Minneapolis for many years and has served on the boards of several civic organizations

Cindy Murphy
Ms. Murphy directed the Charter Center at the Minnesota Department of Education and led the department’s work with charter authorizers, schools, resource organizations and stakeholders. Under her leadership, the Charter Center developed a pioneering evaluation system to review the performance of charter school authorizers in the state.